SACOME announce Dirt TV award winners

The South Australian Chamber of Mines and Energy has announced the winners of its annual video competition for students, Dirt TV, following an awards ceremony at Adelaide Oval last night.

Dominating the awards was the video titled ‘Dig a little deeper’ by Leighton Elliott from St John’s Grammar School, taking out both the BHP Billiton Best Overall Video Award and also the Santos Best Director Award.

CEO Jason Kuchel said ‘Dig a little deeper’ combined a simple clear message with excellent execution and a touch of special effects to be judged a stand out entry.

“Leighton and his team rightly took away $6000 for their efforts, plus another $500 for their school, St John’s Grammar School,” Mr Kuchel said.

The SACOME Best Music Award went to ’Life with Mining’, led by Cassandra Netz, Concordia College; the Iron Road People’s Choice Award went to ’More than numbers on a screen’ by Emily Keough, St Peter’s Girls School; and the OZ Minerals Best Writing Award went to ‘How Mining contributes in our daily lives’ by Emilia Blagojevic, St Joseph’s Memorial School.

Unveiled in December 2013, Dirt TV is a video competition requiring students in years 7 to 12 to produce a short video clip illustrating ‘What mining means to me’, or ‘What oil and gas means to me’.

A pool of about $10,000 was awarded across five categories with $5000 being first prize for Best Overall Video.

Attended by the Treasurer and Minister for Mineral and Energy Resources, the Hon Tom Koutsantonis MP, the event was a fitting finale to the 2015 competition and attracted a range of resource sector stakeholders including industry representatives, Shadow Minister for Mineral Resources and Energy, Dan Van Holst Pellekaan MP, and students, families and teachers.

Mr Kuchel said the competition provided a fantastic opportunity for students to put their creative skills before the state’s top arts and mining leaders.

“I congratulate all the students who entered for creating compelling video clips that reflect what the mining and oil and gas industries mean to them” Mr Kuchel said.

“It was obvious that all productions involved a lot of hard work and students did a great job of highlighting the resources sector, its benefits and the use of its products in everyday life.

“A key aim of Dirt TV is to promote understanding of the resources sector in South Australia and the career opportunities available.

“We hope over time this will help maximise the opportunities to South Australians and grow the state’s capabilities to support the sustainable growth of our minerals and energy industries.”

The competition was judged by an elite group of representatives from South Australian media organisations and the resources industry, including the South Australia Film Corporation, Flinders University, Whitham Media, Santos and BHP Billiton, who looked for originality, creativity and effectiveness in delivering a message.

Spokesperson for the judging panel, Steve Whitham, said the students demonstrated a wonderful grasp and depth of knowledge of the subject matter.

“…but more importantly they knew intuitively how to engage the audience and communicate the key messages. We were seriously blown away by the quality and diversity of the productions,” he said.

Entries for the 2015 Dirt TV competition focused on a range of topics including the use of mined materials, the key economic role the industry plays in South Australia, employment opportunities and the industry’s effect on livelihoods and lifestyles.

2015 Dirt TV Winners:

BHP Billiton Best Overall Entry: ‘Dig a little deeper’: by Leighton Elliott, St John’s Grammar School
Iron Road People’s Choice Award: ‘More than numbers on a screen’: by Emily Keough, St Peter’s Girls School
SACOME Best Music Award: ’Life with Mining’ by Cassandra Netz, Concordia College
OZ Minerals Best Writing Award: ‘How mining contributes to our daily lives’: by Emilia Blagojevic, St Joseph’s Memorial School, Norwood.
Santos Best Director Award: ‘Dig a little deeper’: by Leighton Elliott, St John’s Grammar School

The Dirt TV 2015 judging panel:

Ms Annabelle Sheehan – CEO – South Australia Film Corporation
Mr Simon Corrigan – Head of Corporate Affairs – BHP Billiton
Dr Alison Wotherspoon – Head of Screen & Media – Flinders University
Mr John Phalen – Manager Community and Corporate Responsibility – Santos
Mr Steve Whitham – Managing Director – Whitham Media

If you enjoyed this post, please consider leaving a comment or subscribing to our FREE eNewsletter to have future articles delivered directly to your inbox.

Related Products:

There are no comments

Add yours