Rio Tinto Pilbara

Simon Thompson to succeed Jan du Plessis as chairman

Rio Tinto has appointed Simon Thompson as chairman. Mr Thompson, who joined the Rio Tinto board as a non-executive director in 2014, will become chairman on 5 March 2018.  He succeeds Jan du Plessis who will step down as chairman and from the Rio Tinto board on the same date after serving almost nine years as chairman.

Mr Thompson has over 20 years’ experience working across five continents in the mining and metals industry.
From 1995 to 2007, he worked for the Anglo American group, holding a number of senior positions, including
executive director of Anglo American plc, chief executive of the Base Metals Division, chairman of the
Exploration Division, and chairman of Tarmac. His experience as a non-executive director includes serving on
the boards of AngloGold Ashanti, Rusal and Newmont Mining Corporation.
Mr Thompson has been chairman of 3i Group plc since 2015 and was chairman of Tullow Oil plc from 2012 to
2017. Earlier in his career, he held investment banking positions at S.G. Warburg and N M Rothschild.
Rio Tinto senior independent director Ann Godbehere said “The Rio Tinto board would like to thank Jan for his
significant contribution as chairman of Rio Tinto. He led the board during considerable transformation of the

“The board is delighted to have appointed Simon to chair Rio Tinto. He brings to the role a deep understanding
of the mining industry, as well as a strong track record as a non-executive.”

Simon Thompson said “I am honoured to accept this role and to succeed Jan as chairman. Rio Tinto is in great
shape, with a strong management team, world-class assets and a successful strategy. I look forward to leading
the board as we work with J-S and his team to ensure that Rio Tinto continues to deliver superior returns for its
shareholders by maintaining its capital discipline and ‘value-over-volume’ approach”.

Rio Tinto chairman Jan du Plessis said “I am really pleased to be succeeded by Simon, especially given how
closely we have worked together since he joined the board some three years ago. I wish him the very best. I am
handing over the baton at a time when the business is in great shape and Rio Tinto has the strongest balance
sheet in the sector”.

Upon assuming the role of chairman, Mr Thompson will step down as chairman of the Rio Tinto remuneration
committee and will also cease to be a member of the audit committee. Sam Laidlaw, who previously chaired the
remuneration committee at HSBC Holdings plc, will succeed Mr Thompson as chair of the Rio Tinto
remuneration committee with effect from 5 March 2018.

If you enjoyed this post, please consider leaving a comment or subscribing to our FREE eNewsletter to have future articles delivered directly to your inbox.

Related Products:

There are no comments

Add yours